R AutoSave

R AutoSave

BIM2B
Free

OS:
Language:

Description

Every Autodesk® Revit® user has been faced with a situation of emergency shutdown and loss of data at some point. No one wants to lose time and work done. This inspired us to create the "R AutoSave" application - auto-save for Revit!

The main task of R AutoSave is to minimize the loss of data.

You just need to install R AutoSave, set the auto-save interval and that's it!

Examples of use.

Normal work.

For example, you specify an interval of auto-saving of 5 minutes. This means that R AutoSave will automatically save your project every 5 minutes (completely without your participation).

You can still make a "manual" file saving (the "Save" button) when you need it.

The backup files created during the "manual" saving (files like "Project Name.001.rvt") will be stored by default in the "Backup" folder in the project directory.

Emergency shutdown.

After an emergency shutdown start Revit, and then open the file. A dialog box appears with options for restoring the file. Select the option you want and you will restore the file.

Closing a file without saving.

If you want to close a file without saving the changes you have made, just do it as usual. Changes (including all automatic saving) will not be saved, only standard "manual" save will be saved.

 

R AutoSave works with the following file types:

  • Project files (RVT)
  • Local copies of central file (RVT)
  • Revit Family (RFA)
  • Project Template Files (RTE)

More information about R AutoSave is available on our website

Read Help Document

About This Version

Version 1.4.4, 9/25/2017
Added automatic check for updates Improved automatic save processing when working with a copy of the central storage The appearance of the settings panel is changed version is displayed

Screenshots and Videos


Customer Reviews

(6 reviews)

|

Get Technical Help
  • Forced saving
    Mika Leinonen | November 18, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    App saving even I don't want to project or family to be saved. Earlier Revit asked do I want to save or not. Not anymore it just saving even I don't want Revit to do that. And same continues even I uninstall R AutoSave. Where I can disable that function. Seems useful, but at the moment causing more harm for me.


  • Great app, couple of minor issues
    Steven Bunker | September 19, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    So far, I like it well. It has a couple of minor issues. The first problem: it has the option to save backups to a location other than the parent file directory, which is the Revit default. The problem is that the app defaults to saving the files in C:\temp. Therefore, I stopped seeing backups created and I thought there was a problem with Revit and I ended up seeking help on the forums (https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit-mep-forum/family-backups-not-being-created/m-p/7389315/highlight/false#M44793). The developer should make the default behave like Revit default and let the user change the file save location only if they want. The second problem: it doesn't delete the temporary save files if you close your file without saving. So, if I edit a family by opening it from within a project, then reload without saving, R AutoSave will create the temporary backup files in the family's directory, but it won't delete them after closing. Therefore, when I go to edit that family later by opening them from the actual file, R AutoSave will ask me if I want to open the backup or open the last manually-saved file. If, upon closing a file, you click "Do not Save," the app should delete the temp files. By the way, I'm not having the same problem as some reviewers with the manual save on exit. My manual save on exit is working fine (in Revit 2017 and 2018, at least).


  • Previous backup files are deleted
    Gary Fields | August 28, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    Please update the app to prevent automatic deletion of backup project files which were saved before installation of the app.


    Dmitry Chubrik (Publisher) | September 06, 2017

    To do this, increase the number of backup copies of files in the settings.


  • No Autosave on Exit
    Gary Fields | August 28, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    Please update the app to prompt for manual save on exit, which is otherwise overridden by the app.


  • autosave
    Daniel Voinkov | July 18, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    Razdel gde nahoditco soft AutoCAD&/ update super!!


  • be careful!!!
    David Keller | July 08, 2017 Verified Download (What's this?)

    If you forget to save changes before you close your file, you won't get a warning dialogue asking you to save. Revit file will revert to last saved version. pretty dumb on my part, but I just lost 4 hours of work thinking that my autosaved file every 5 minutes had me covered. Seems like a useful app overall, but dangerous!

Go top